The State Library is redesigning our website with the goal of creating the best possible experience for our users. Please take a moment to have a look. We welcome your feedback on the new web site.
We can scan limited portions of our books or journals by request and give you the digital files. We do not produce print reproductions.
Reasons we might decline your request:
- it would cause irreparable damage to the original item,
- the item is already freely and readily accessible in digital format,
- we believe scanning the item would violate copyright law.
Fees for Digital Reproductions
|Bound, printed document or book||Up to 11" x 17"||$5.00 for the first scan
$1.00 for subsequent scans
|Between 11" x 17" and 48" on the shortest side||$4.00 per scan|
|Bound fragile printed document or book||Up to 48" on shortest side||$4.00 per scan|
|Unbound document, sheets of paper, or maps||Up to 11" x 17"||$1.00 per scan|
|Between 11" x 17" and 48" on the shortest side||$4.00 per scan
$15.00 for stitching
|All formats||Larger than 48" on shortest side||Contact for pricing|
How to Order
To request scan(s), follow the instructions below:
- Print out the Digital Reproduction Request Form (pdf) (8.5" x 14" form)
- Fill out and sign the form. Unsigned forms will not be processed.
- Submit ONE form at a time. When your request has been filled, you may fill out an additional form.
- Attach payment to completed request form. The State Library of North Carolina will only accept checks or money orders. Make checks payable to: Department of Cultural Resources.
- If you are a State Agency and wish to request scans, you may pay through e-payment. See e-payment instructions on form.
- Mail form AND payment to:
ATTN: Digital Reproduction
4643 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4643
- Questions or comments? Email us:
The State Library of North Carolina makes no representation as to whether or not a work in its collection is protected under copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). Patrons seeking to reproduce, display or publish in any way materials held by the State Library of North Carolina should refer to the most current copyright legislation for information relating to the use of published materials. It is the patron's responsibility to adhere to the provisions of this law and, where necessary, to seek permission to publish, display or reproduce materials from copyright holders. Under certain conditions specified in the copyright law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted works. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a patron makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," the patron may be liable for copyright infringement.